Aastra script for remote phone provisionong

Discussion in 'IP Phones' started by spsah, Oct 19, 2009.

1. spsah

I have used Aastra script and it works like a charm. Only issue is that I can not use
    this script on Aastra phones if it is not connected on the same network i.e. if elastix
    server is in different VLAN/Network or at remote location over WAN. Has anyone
    tried using this script for remote phone provisioning?

2. dicko

Just make sure that port 69 (tftp) is open on your router. and that the phone knows where the tftpserver is to be found at (externip of the elastix server).

3. donhwyo

If you want a more secure way also look into setting up a vpn connection. It can be a bit of a pain but worth the effort.

Don

4. marinoss

I am not sure if my problem relates to remote phone provisioning but I thought it might be.

I am a newbie and I have recently setup Elastix with some Aastra57i. The server is located at my office and I have both local and remote (at my house) extensions. Everything works great!

The only problem I have is when I try to use the Visual Voicemail from the remote extensions I get a "Connect Timeout" on Aastra's LCD. The voicemail softkey is set to http://XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX/aastra/asterisk/ ... 03&pin=103 where XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX is the static IP address of my office's router. On the router I have forwarded ports 5060, 10000-20000 and 69 to my Asterisk server IP address.

Just to confirm that the Visual Voicemail works fine when I use the local extensions. For the local extensions the voicemail softkey is set to http://192.168.1.109/aastra/asterisk/vm ... 01&pin=101.

Is there a way to make this work without using VPN as suggested in the previous post?

5. aastra1

Hi marinoss,

First of all, can you confirm that the problem you have with the scripts used remotely is not limited to the Visual VM but occurs for all the scripts?