911 dialing at multiple locations

rodeojones

Joined
Jun 21, 2010
Messages
6
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
In the next few weeks, we are planning on going live with our Elastix server. The server will reside at our headquarters location in OKC. We have several offices throughout the country with 10-20 phones in each location.

I am trying to get an idea how we will handle 911 calls. How would we make it so that the 911 service would get called locally and the address that they receive be the address for the office that called rather than the address of our OKC location?

Thanks!
john
 

rafael

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Likes
1
Points
0
#2
Do you have only one Elastix server for whole country? How do you make calls? with a sip trunk, dhadi, etc..?

Regards,

rafael
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
What I have done in a small setup with two locations, I have a PBX at each, with IAX2 trunk in between. The normal route is using SIP trunks from each PBX. Each location has also an FXO backup (the only POTS line remaining that is used for fax) that is used for 911 calls.

If you only have one PBX, you should probably check with your SIP provider to have different E911 information linked to different trunk and route your emergency accordingly. You can use the outbound route module or the custom context module for that matter.
 

rodeojones

Joined
Jun 21, 2010
Messages
6
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
rafael said:
Do you have only one Elastix server for whole country? How do you make calls? with a sip trunk, dhadi, etc..?
Yes, we are hoping to be able to have all of the hardware here at our headquarters. We are using a PRI (DAHDI with a Digium TE420B card) for incoming, and SIP for outgoing. If a solution requires POTS or something else, we can most likely make that happen since we are still in our testing phase.

Thank you!
john
 

rodeojones

Joined
Jun 21, 2010
Messages
6
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Patrick_elx said:
What I have done in a small setup with two locations, I have a PBX at each, with IAX2 trunk in between. The normal route is using SIP trunks from each PBX. Each location has also an FXO backup (the only POTS line remaining that is used for fax) that is used for 911 calls.

If you only have one PBX, you should probably check with your SIP provider to have different E911 information linked to different trunk and route your emergency accordingly. You can use the outbound route module or the custom context module for that matter.
We only have one PBX. The goal is to have as little hardware at each office as possible because there is no IT staff there.

I am not familiar with the custom context module. I will check it out. Thanks for your help!

john
 

rodeojones

Joined
Jun 21, 2010
Messages
6
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Custom Contexts works great.

Thank you both for your responses.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,563
Latest member
dineshr
Top