##700, *2 etc are sending a DTMF tone

Discussion in 'General' started by jdhatch, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. jdhatch

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    ##700, *2 etc are sending a DTMF tone through to the other party and not signalling Elastix(Asterisk) to park / transfer etc.

    Is this caused by a particular setting?

    I have tried SNOM and Grandstream phones.

    Thanks, Jason
     
  2. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there first of all try to read in newbies corner the sticky post of bob fryer...as far as learn how to ask...then look into this in google
    asterisk +dtmf u will fnid the answer there...in voip info link
     
  3. jdhatch

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand teaching a man to fish rather than giving him a fish. But I can not even tie the hook to the line here.

    I take my scolding yesterday as training a Newby.

    Before I even asked my question yesterday I googled and read at least 20 pages / treads about DTMF and signaling. Now I am beyond 50 I am sure. I have tried to understand inline vs rfc2833 vs SIP INFO vs auto.

    I have tried every variation of each of these DTMF types on the phone, the Elastix server and on the SIP trunk. I have tried using different CODECs (ulaw, GSM and G729) matching / passthrough and dissimilar to require conversion. Everything seems to pass the DTMF tone through or Elastix generates the tone (SIP INFO)to the outside POTS phone at the other end of the trunk. It just never intercepts the feature code whether it starts with * or #.

    I am not entirely sure what details are needed, but I will try:
    I am running a VM hosted remotely.
    Centos 5.5

    Kernel
    Linux(x86_64)-2.6.18-194.3.1.el5xen

    Elastix
    elastix-2.0.0-58
    elastix-asterisk-sounds-1.2.3-1
    elastix-reports-2.0.0-20
    elastix-addons-2.0.0-19
    elastix-vtigercrm-5.1.0-8
    elastix-firstboot-2.0.0-14
    elastix-system-2.0.0-38
    elastix-fax-2.0.0-18
    elastix-email_admin-2.0.0-23
    elastix-agenda-2.0.0-24
    elastix-a2billing-1.3.0-4
    elastix-pbx-2.0.0-41

    RounCubeMail
    RoundCubeMail-0.3.1-5

    Mail
    postfix-2.3.3-2.1.el5_2
    cyrus-imapd-2.3.7-7.el5_4.3

    IM
    openfire-3.5.1-3

    FreePBX
    freePBX-2.7.0-10

    Asterisk
    asterisk-1.6.2.13-0
    asterisk-perl-0.10-2
    asterisk-addons-1.6.2.1-0

    FAX
    hylafax-4.3.9-0rhel5
    iaxmodem-1.2.0-1.1

    DRIVERS
    dahdi-2.3.0.1-3
    rhino-0.99.3-2.beta2
    wanpipe-util-3.5.14-0

    Phones tried are:
    Grandstream GXP2120
    Grandstream GXP2020
    Grandstream GXP280
    Grandstream HT502
    SNOM 360

    Any direction or advice would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks, Jason
     
  4. jdhatch

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the HT502 working. YEAH!!!!

    I will keep plugging on the others!
     
  5. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure those codes are not pre-empted by "feature codes" on the phone itself.
     
  6. jdhatch

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dicko. That was part of the problem. Also the HT502 and GXP2120 both have their own dial plan I had to add ##x+ to.

    Thanks, Jason
     
  7. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    also remember the grandstream get all by default in inband dtmf mode and not rfc2833 or sip info
     
  8. jdhatch

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah.

    I changed the DTMF in the phones early in this process.

    Jason
     

Share This Page