2 servers or just 1 massive one... suggestions?

theeye

I am rather new to asterisk, and VERY new to Elastix. I have been tasked with replacing our current Asterisk server with a better one, and was told that Elastix was the way to go.

My first hurdle is buying the hardware necessary for the server to run with no hiccups. We currently have about 600 extensions, and that will probably double or even triple in size within the next year or two. We currently have 30 (true) Sip trunks and all the phones we are using are SIP phones. We have a main call center in the corporate location, and smaller call centers in various locations in the same state as well as other states.

I was thinking as Duel Xeon MB with Quad Xeons, and about 8gb of memory (4gb per processor), with a raid 5 or raid 10 configuration for redundancy and speed. However, from the research I have done it seems a large setup like this benefits from a separate SQL server. I understand separating the DB processing from the asterisk application processing, and the benefits this would bring. But with a single server that is configured as I indicated above, shouldn't that be more the capable of handling both?

Any hardware recommendations for our setup would be helpful. The company is concerned about spending too much on hardware, but I am concerned about expandability and reliability.

Thanks

dicko

theeye

Thanks for the reply, it is appreciated!

I have been there and looked through most of the information there. It has helped me determine that the machine I had in mind should be more then adequate for the number of calls , trunks, etc that we have, but I am still concerned about whether I need to move the DB off to another machine.

I think its because I am unfamiliar with asterisk and what it uses the DB for exactly that I am confused about this. I don't want to talk my boss into a $3k server thinking it will handle everything, and then realize I do need to offload the DB to another server.

dicko