1.5.2-2.3 86x64 dahdi soft lockup

mihpel

Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
87
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Has anybody been experiencing dahdi timing issues causing soft lockups with 86x64 latest updates ?

I've made a bug report on this http://bugs.elastix.org/view.php?id=148
but thought i should ask if someone has already stumbled upon and already has this resolved.

Regards,
mihpel
 

mihpel

Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
87
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Bump!

Am i the only one experiencing the particular problem ?

Any interest in resolving this ?

If not i'll try to recreate by reinstalling the system and move to 32bit if the problem reoccurs.

Thanks,
mihpel
 

mihpel

Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
87
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
It seems that if ntpd is started before dahdi the problem goes away.

And the question now is :

What would be a safe way to alter the startup sequence so that ntpd starts before dahdi ?

I am looking it up but would appreciate any certain knowledge for the process.

Thanks for your patience !

Mihpel
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
init's start up order is in this order:

ls /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S*|sort -n


/etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S09dahdi
and
/etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S58ntpd

S09dahdi is currently started before the network is up so you could try:

mv /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S09dahdi /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/S59dahdi

(or higher but less than asterisk itself of course)
 

mihpel

Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
87
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Just the person i've been expecting to hear from :)

Keep spreading the magic m8 :)

I'll test and report back with results !

Thanks again.
 

mihpel

Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
87
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
I've completely removed dahdi from rc2 and moved it in rc3 up to rc5 from S26 (which was the original setting for the certain system ) to S59, right after ntpd.
Rebooted , tested and problem gone !!!
I'll keep an eye on it in the next days for strange behavior.

Is the normal sequence for dahdi S09 or is it randomly taking any available space before asterisk ?

Thanks!
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
don't confuse the startup order with the run-level, normally your box is in run-level 3 (rc3) (multi-user networked), rc5 is when you run a graphical login ( if you have one)

the Snn* scripts need to be in each of the run-levels (they are symlinks to the real scripts in ../init.d )

You should undo all the moving between run-levels and just do the renaming within any run-levels you use, if you use rc5 rename within that directory also.


(ls -las /etc/rc.d/rc3.d will show the symlinks if you get lost)

and no the numbering is not random it must be carefully constructed so that certain services don't start before others if there are any dependancies, the rpm/yum process names them what the packager decides.
 

mihpel

Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
87
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
I have restored dahdi rc2 entry as ntpd is not being run in init 2 so no harm there. No moving between run-levels was made but thanks for pointing this out for me !

As for the numbering i suspect that yours come from 32bit elastix system because only that could explain the noted difference .
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Indeed that was from a 32 bit install.

As long as it works, the job is done.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,915
Messages
130,920
Members
17,591
Latest member
dalibor66
Top