Cisco IP Phone 7960 troubles

Discussion in 'IP Phones' started by bbackx, Aug 24, 2007.

1. bbackx

Hi everyone,

I'm new to elastix and have a strange problem.
    First off all: the situation.
    A test-pc with elastix (0.8.3) installed, prutty much out of the box (no special settings, modules, ...).
    2 extensions: one is used for a Cisco IP Phone 7960 (Extension 202), the other for X-Lite (software SIP-client, extension 203). When I go and check the operator panel, I see the X-Lite 'device' as online, but not the cisco phone.
    When I check asterisk what happens when calling with the cisco-phone, the following message is interesting:
    "Received incoming SIP connection from unknown peer to 203"
    Now, when I check the elastix-reports, I see SIP/192.168.100.173-08750de8 (192.168.100.173 being the ip of the elastix-server) as source channel. Calling with the X-Lite client, gives me SIP/203-087567b8.

So the cisco phone is connected with Elastix, but I can't call with it. When I allow anonymous calling, I can call from the cisco phone to the software client, but not the other way around.
    When I check the call preferences of the cisco phone, CallerID Blocking is set to no.

Does anyone know what's going wrong? Because I don't :(<br><br>Post edited by: bbackx, at: 2007/08/24 09:27

2. rejil.rajan

Dear Bbackx

Please could you login into the Asterisk console using asterisk -r and give the command sip show peers.

Once you give this command you can see the extension of the Cisco phone displayed.

203/203 <Your Cisco IP Address> D 5060 Unmonitored

Beside it check if you can see the IP address of the Cisco phone is present or not. If it is not present the meaning is that the phone is not registered

To rectify this issue you can login into the menu of the Cisco 7960 and go to SIP configuration and after all the Line settings, you will see an option Register with Proxy. Check if this is Yes.